Developmental Neurotoxicology Society

Each year, the DNTS offers New Investigator Research Award which provides funding to attend and present at our Annual Meeting. The DNTS New Investigator Research Award is presented to the best paper by a new investigator in the field. The paper must be published or in press during the particular calendar year, and may be in any journal. The applicant must be first author of the paper and either a current student or have completed their degree within the last 3 years. The awardee will present the paper at the annual meeting and be awarded with a plaque honoring their achievement. For complete information on the New Investigator Research Award as well as NBTS Conference (Travel) Awards for students and post-doctoral fellows, please contact the chairperson of the NBTS Awards Committee.

In 2008, the award was renamed the Richard Butcher New Investigator Award to honor the first president of NBTS/DNTS.

The following is a list of previous NBTS/DNTS New Investigator Research Award winners. Congratulations to all!

2019 Richard Butcher New Investigator Award

Katherine O'Shaughnessy

United States Environmental Protection Agency, Research Triangle Park, NC, USA, Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education, Oak Ridge, TN, USA
Thyroid Hormone Disruption in the Fetal and Neonatal Rat: Predictive Hormone Measures and Bioindicators of Hormone Action in the Developing Cortex

Dr. Richard Butcher presents Dr. Patricia Janulewicz with the award at the 2013 meeting.
Dr. Tori Schaefer, 2012 Richard Butcher New Investigator awardee, with Dr. Jerry Meyer, Chair of the Awards Committee
The 2011 Richard Butcher New Investigator, Dr. Paul Eubig (left), with the award's namesake, Richard Butcher (right), at the 2011 annual meeting.


Sarah Smith 2014
GoDaddy Gregg
  • 2014: Landhing Moran, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC. Nominated by Charlie Mactutus.
  • 2013: Patricia Janulewicz, Boston University, Boston, MA.  Nominated by Jane Adams.
  • 2012:  Tori Schaefer, Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Cincinnati, OH. Nominated by Charles Vorhees.
  • 2011: Paul A. Eubig, Department of Comparative Biosciences, College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL. Nominated by Sue Schantz.
  • 2010: Dominik K. Biezonski, Neuroscience and Behavior Program, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA. Nominated by Jerry Meyer.
  • 2009: Sherin Y. Boctor, Department of Interdisciplinary Biomedical Sciences, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Little Rock, AR and Division of Neurotoxicology, National Center for Toxicological Research/FDA. Nominated by Sherry Ferguson.
  • 2008: David S. Sharlin, NIDDK, National Institutes of Health, Washington, DC. Nominated by Mary Gilbert.
  • 2007: Brian E. Powers, Division of Neuroscience, University of Illinois, Urbana, IL. Nominated by Susan Schantz.
  • 2006: Annelyn Torres-Reveron, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology, SUNY Downstate, Brooklyn, NY. Nominated by Diana Dow-Edwards.
  • 2005: Lori L. Driscoll, Department of Psychology, Colorado College, Colorado Springs, CO. Nominated by Barbara Strupp
  • 2004: James B. Koprich, Department of Neurological Sciences, Rush University Medical Center, Chicago, IL. Nominated by Jack Lipton
  • 2003: No award
  • 2002: Darlene H. Brunzell, Department of Psychiatry, Yale University School of Medicine, New Haven, CT. Nominated by Jerrold Meyer
  • 2001: Katherine M. Flynn, Division of Neurotoxicology, NCTR/FDA, Jefferson, AR. Nominated by Sherry Ferguson
  • 2000: No award
  • 1999: B. W. Seo, Neuroscience Program, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL. Nominated by Susan Schantz
  • 1998: Brian Kelley, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Medical University of South Carolina, Charleston, SC. Nominated by Larry Middaugh.
  • 1997: No award
  • 1996: John H. Freeman, Jr., Department of Psychology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC. Nominated by Mark Stanton
  • 1995: Harry W. Broening, Children’s Hospital Research Foundation, Basic Research, Cincinnati, OH. Nominated by Charles Vorhees
  • 1994: Charles Heyser, Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA. Nominated by Linda Spear.
  • 1993: No award
  • 1992: Ellen Goldey, Zoology Department, Miami University, Oxford, OH. Nominated by Doug Taylor.
  • 1991: Sherry Ferguson, Harlow Primate Laboratory, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI. Nominated by Robert Bowman